BOOK REVIEW: “This Beautiful Mess – Practicing the Presence of the Kingdom of God” by Rick McKinley

Leave a comment

September 18, 2013 by piratritasavit

I am a fan of Don Miller. I am a fan of Sixpence None The Richer. Therefore, I am a fan of Rick McKinley. Though I was far less familiar with him at the start of reading, I can see his pastoral heart in reflecting on Don Miller’s writings. And I can hear Sixpence lyrics on the pages of This Beautiful Mess as McKinley pens a testimonial of God’s grace in Portland.

I particularly enjoyed the congregational contributions of testimonies and poetry, reflections collected to enrich each chapter. This updated version (I never read it the first time around) is succinct in its descriptions of God’s story unfolding in the grittiest corners of Portland. Socks and Cigarettes. Students adopting an urban tenement building. Pastor Rick himself going through a trying time in the hospital with his son. And all the while, God showing Himself glorious in the thick of our mess.

DISCLAIMER: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,159 other followers

